Testament of Youth – Review

excerpt from Wizard Radio: 25th October 2014 | 58th BFI London Film Festival 2014

Directed by James Kent, the film connects with the audience on an emotional level all the time. On one hand it is a story about war, love, loss and remembrance but on another it is about coming-of-age. All of these themes thrown together create a very powerful and memorable film, not least helped by some of the cinematography and locations shown to the viewer. Juliette Towhidi, who wrote the screenplay, thankfully kept a great deal of the historical locations including Derbyshire and also the French field hospital camp of Etaples where Vera served in 1917.

Seeing as it is a period piece, the attention to detail is fantastic. The costumes were a highlight and also helped to portray Vera Brittain’s ever-changing role and status throughout the war. The acting also matches these subtleties – especially in Colin Morgan’s performance as Victor Richardson and Emily Watson as Mrs Brittain.  Although saying that, there is not one weak link in the cast – a rare thing to find in films nowadays.

"Testament Of Youth" - Official Screening:  58th BFI London Film Festival - Inside Arrivals

29 comments on “Testament of Youth – Review

  1. josieboase says:

    Hi there, I desire to subscribe for this blog to take latest updates, so where can i do it please assist.

    Like

    • Hi Josie: At the end of the Archives listing on the side-bar, there is a blue box that allows you to follow the website. If you click on that box, you will receive notices each time a new post is published. Thank you for your interest. Suntse

      Like

  2. This is a topic which is close to my heart… Many thanks!

    Exactly where are your contact details though?

    Like

    • My contact details are located in a drop down menu from the ‘About’ option on the main menu bar. Here they are:
      You can contact me using the following email: bbcfilmlover@mail.com. This mailbox is checked weekly.
      Otherwise, place your comments on the appropriate post. I get notifications of these comments daily.
      Thank you, Suntse

      Like

  3. Lourdes says:

    Hi, I would like to subscribe for this weblog to take latest updates, so where
    can i do it please assist.

    Like

    • Hi Lourdes: At the end of the Archives listing on the side-bar, there is a blue box that allows you to follow the website. If you click on that box, you will receive notices each time a new post is published. Thank you for your interest. Suntse

      Like

  4. Roman says:

    Just checked out several of your photos (: i’m truly pleased i obtained to task shadow you.
    You’re excellent!

    Like

  5. First of all I would like to say awesome blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your
    mind prior to writing. I’ve had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out.

    I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost just trying to
    figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Thanks!

    Like

    • Thank you for enjoying my efforts here. In answer to your question: It depends on the time and frequency of your writing attempts. If your audience (or employer) is expecting something from you daily, that is a very difficult schedule for a ‘creative’ writer, and I have no suggestions other than some self-guided meditation for 10-15 minutes before you begin. My weblog is completely unrestricted as to time. This is a big help for me, as I am much less creative when there is a demand placed on my efforts. I have primarily one interest … which is to build an archive of Colin Morgan’s work as an actor and humanitarian. Therefore, I am usually inspired by something he has done or said, or his latest film project, or interview … and these things give me inspiration. I usually wake at 3 or 4 in the morning with an idea or thought I cannot wait to record. I do A LOT of editing. Just recording the main thought gives me a basis to work with. Defining and grooming the language comes after. The thing about setting down the initial thought leads me down other roads and sometimes provides inspiration for a second or third article on perhaps even a different aspect of his talent. If you have a subject you are passionate about, that is a huge help with guiding your efforts.

      I hope this will help. If you want to continue our correspondence, you can use the ‘contact the author’ information, which explains primarily how to reach me by email. Good luck to you with your efforts. Best wishes, Suntse

      Like

  6. Lonna says:

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest
    but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later on. Cheers

    Like

  7. justinschur says:

    Hello, the whole thing is going fine here and ofcourse every
    one is sharing facts, that’s genuinely good, keep up writing.

    Like

  8. gwendolyn says:

    I visited a lot of website but I conceive this one has got something extra in it.

    Like

  9. Good blog! I truly love how it is simple on my eyes and the
    data are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has
    been made. I have subscribed to your feed which must do the trick!
    Have a nice day!

    Like

    • Hi Catherine: At the end of the Archives listing on the side-bar, there is a blue box that allows you to follow the website. If you click on that box, you will receive notices each time a new post is published. Thank you for your interest. Suntse

      Like

  10. paulina says:

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here!

    Good luck for the next!

    Like

  11. Excellent way of telling, and nice post to get facts concerning my presentation focus, which i am going to deliver in college.

    Like

  12. This is my very first time to visit here. I discovered a multitude of entertaining stuff as part of your
    blog, especially its discourse. From the tons of comments on the posts, I suppose I’m
    not the only one having most of the enjoyment!
    Keep up the favorable job.

    Like

  13. I appreciate your work, thanks for sharing all
    the beneficial blog posts.

    Like

  14. cyrusclar says:

    Thanks for superb post. Keep us posted.

    Like

  15. This is a nice blog i must say, I usually i do not post remarks on many
    other blogs nevertheless would like to say that this
    post definitely forced me to do so!

    Like

  16. myrnathiel says:

    I actually prize your piece of content, Great post.

    Like

  17. I truly enjoy your work , Excellent post.

    Like

  18. jerrold.miah says:

    Enjoying the information on this site, you have done an excellent
    job on the content.

    Like

  19. adan_sheean says:

    Thank you for this post, I’m a big fan of this web site would want to be updated.

    Like

    • Hi Adan: At the end of the Archives listing on the side-bar, there is a blue box that allows you to follow the website. If you click on that box, you will receive notices each time a new post is published. Thank you for your interest. Suntse

      Like

  20. Simone says:

    Ƭhis is ɑ topic that’s near tto my heart… Thank you!
    Exactly whhere arе yoiur contact detaiⅼs though?

    Like

    • Hello Simone, My contact details are located in a drop down menu from the ‘About’ option on the main menu bar. Here they are:
      You can contact me using the following email: bbcfilmlover@mail.com. This mailbox is checked weekly.
      Otherwise, place your comments on the appropriate post. I get notifications of these comments daily.
      Thank you, Suntse

      Like

  21. Selena says:

    This website is fantastic, i truly adore it.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. margherita says:

    Keep up the great piece of work, I read several
    posts on this site and I think that your web blog is actually interesting and contains loads of outstanding
    information.

    Like

Leave a Reply

