Colin Morgan and James Kent on Testament of Youth

Colin Morgan

Tell us about the film and how was it like working with the cast.

It’s brilliant. It’s an emotional and truthful and heartfelt account of what happened and to be a part of that, to represent, to have that duty to those people is a privilege and it’s an honor as an actor. You’re studying people’s lives, you’re reading their words, you’re speaking their words and you’re essentially representing them. I think that’s what a lot of us will say, we did feel a duty, we had to honor them.

As it was a strong topic, how was the mood on set? Was it different to other things you’ve worked on?

I think again in the tone of being documented and the testament of the time, there was a sense of us all of being on the same page banding together. A lot of us, Kit, Taron and myself have all read the letters that the guys had written amongst each and so it was important for us to be on the same page in terms of that and the relationships, but it never felt, it didn’t feel heavy because at the end of the day they’re young people of the time and they very much have the spirit of young people now. Well, obviously there are massive differences between what the youth have done now and what they had then, so that was an eye opener for us.

We see you’ve got some exciting things coming up, are you looking forward to them?

Yeah. I was in the midst of filming Humans which is an AMC/Channel 4 drama. I was filming all day today. And then Legends coming out later on in the year with Tom Hardy; really looking forward to seeing how they all turn out. It’s all going well so far.

Do you have a particular favorite line from the movie that you can remember?

The one that always comes through to me is the one that Vera says herself, “Our youth has been stolen from us.” And I think that’s massive. That sums it up perfectly.


Director, James Kent

How was this film for you compared to other things you’ve done?

This is the best experience I’ve ever had because it was such a meaningful story, such a fantastic profound story about a young girl who is an inspiration. I mean she struggles to get to University, she gets to university then damn, the war breaks out. She loses people she loves and yet somehow she comes out of the film stronger and wiser than she began, and I think that’s a lesson. Life will have terrible obstacles for all of us, we will lose, we will grieve, we will recover and we will learn compassion and understanding as a result of that experience.

ToY.1       Vera

7 comments on “Colin Morgan and James Kent on Testament of Youth

  1. leahluna55 says:

    I want to see this movie, but don’t know when it will come to my country.As soon as they sell it through Amazon USA I’ll buy it, immediately, as I did with Parked and Island.
    I’ve read some reviews of ToY, good ones and bad ones, but I rather have my one opinion after I read the book and see the movie. Anyway, reading and listening the interviews is very inspiring. This Director seems to be very sensitive and very clear about the key message of the book and Britain’s life. And Colin handles very well all the interviews, love the way he speaks (sometimes do not understand), but by the things he says you notice how deep he goes in researching, studying and understanding the script, the book, the character and then putting everything together when the moment comes. Any role he plays he gets into the character, like a chameleon, and that’s amazing!!!
    People say he is too shy, but I don’t see that when talks and is interviewed.

    Have you seen Island? Liked that movie very much. Independent films can be great.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, Leah … I LOVE Island!! That is such a special performance by Colin … he captures the boy, Calum, completely. I find few people who see it as we did … very few. But when we do become aware of them, it’s like finding a kindred spirit. It must take a different set of eyes to see such quality, sensitivity, and beauty in that film … the redemption of Nikki at the end … the influence of this lovely boy on her hardened manner. Thank you for mentioning it. I have every intention of creating a separate page for this film, which future intent is mentioned at the end of the Merlin notes.

      Liked by 1 person

      • leahluna55 says:

        Yes!!! create a separate page, please! I really love Island, many people talk only about Parked, which I think is excellent, but Island touches my heart, love the music, the colors, the performances…everything. You are the first person that thinks like I do about this film. I read the book also, and I think the script adaptation stays faithful to the original except by the end.
        Many things to say about this film.

        Like

      • Hi … I sent you a separate email. Let me know what you think.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Leah … I will create the page for Island soon. You have inspired me! It will be wonderful for you to post your comments and replies on this very special film. Give me through the week-end … maybe sooner as I have already written a lot and can probably begin mostly by copying what I have already done. Thank you for getting me started!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. leahluna55 says:

    Ah! I have to thank you again for the help with my blog. I’m still struggling and studying how to deal with it. Any suggestions to improve it please let me know.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. leahluna55 says:

    Great! and yes, mail is a good idea. Reply later.

    Like

Leave a Reply

