Last Tango in Halifax

While waiting for Colin’s roles to appear on our tv screens, I am taking a look at this very good BBC TV series, which is about to air its 3rd Season.  The first two seasons are airing on Netflix now.  The acting is superior … Nicola Walker (far right) is an amazing actor portraying a difficult character … Derek Jacobi is delightful … one might compare him to Gaius in a way.  The story lines are appealing.  The family interactions are complex.  There are different personalities and back stories  to keep it interesting.

Last Tango.1

I am quite fond of romantic attachments between people who have advanced past their youth.  We have a soft spot for second chances.  BBC does this kind of thing often, we may visit others as time goes by.

5 comments on “Last Tango in Halifax

  1. Twosocks says:

    Checked this out on Amazon. US seems only to be offering it as an “instant” which I can’t do. But the UK has it. A while back I got a region free DVD player. Some of the best money I’ve ever spent. And I love getting packages that say Royal Mail.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Twosocks … Are you watching only on DVD … or do you also have a laptop? Since you already have internet, and if you can purchase an inexpensive used laptop with about a 15″ screen, you could have an alternative to purchasing DVD’s for every series, except the ones you want to keep for the long term. Don’t get me wrong, I love my region free DVD player, the best $40 ever spent. But I also really enjoy the Netflix offerings … for less than $9 a month there is access to many good series, including this one. (and there is a 30-day free trial which truly can be cancelled at any time.). Netflix is ad free … no commercials.

    Do you have Amazon Prime? I know it is also an expense, but the annual fee gives me free 2-day shipping and access to many of the series listed in the free catalog. The annual fee works out to about the same $9 a month. There are a couple of those series I would highly recommend.

    I am semi-retired and have a very small income, but have found either of these to give me much enjoyment. Just one of these services costs less than one movie a month, with popcorn, and no driving in the snow! :-).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Twosocks says:

    Yes, I pretty much watch on DVD. I operate off of my iPad with a somewhat limited data plan. We have a new plan that gives me a lot more now, which is nice. I can get Merlin on iTunes because it is short enough, but if you try longer stuff (such as Sherlock) it won’t accept it unless you are connected to wifi.

    I’m retired, too, and after having my DirecTV disconnected when I was away taking care of my mom, I decided I would rather spend the money on things I really want to watch instead of lots of channels I never do (the Golf Channel–really?). Plus right now, DD and SIL and I are trying to find a new house where we can all live together with perhaps a basement apartment for me. I learned the value of looking ahead and preparing for the future.

    So, the end of it all is that I am okay with how things are right now and will hopefully get wifi when we are settled more permenantly. Which is why I am grateful to sites like yours that give me a heads up on good programs. I also have several knitting sisters on Ravelry who live “across the pond” and keep me posted. I totally blame one of them for the whole Santiago Cabrerra, The Musketeers, thing.

    I have so enjoyed talking to you and to Leahluna. We only got a few flakes this morning, but I suspect her son is digging out right now.

    Like

  4. leahluna55 says:

    Thanks for keeping us updated! I’ll look for that series in Netflix, for sure my husband and I will enjoy it! We saw this weekend “Spies of Warsaw with David Tennant (Dr. Who) and Janet Montgomery (Princess Mithian from Merlin). It’s beautiful, love the way bbc shows the romance. It’s set on the WW2.
    Having Netflix is really worth it, I pay a little bit more because I have 4 screens (pantallas in Spanish), one for Hector and I, and one for each of my kids. They are outside of my country so they carry Netflix in their laptop, all around.
    Life is about enjoying it, too! I love to watch good Films, TV Shows, Documentaries etc. I used to call the TV “la Caja Tonta” (something like The Dumb Box), but not anymore. There are so many good adaptations of excellent literary works for TV.

    Like

  5. leahluna55 says:

    Freeformmagic, I can’t find it in Netflix. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

