Parked … Interview at IFFMH

This interview is a big favorite of mine.  I have saved and watched it many, many times over the years since it was first published in November 2011.  It had been difficult to understand in some places, but now the wonderful Koushuidou Fansubgroup has published it again with English subtitles.  This interview is in 5 parts … every one of them well worth the time.  I predict you will watch it many times, learn a lot … and fall in love with Colin over and over again!

(Apparently YouTube has removed the ability to post this as a playlist, but the individual links still work, one at a time.  So, I have provided the links to all 5 parts and have embedded the 3rd one for this posting.  This 3rd part is the one where Colin speaks of his preparation for the role.)

International Film Festival, Mannheim, Germany, November 2011

19 comments on “Parked … Interview at IFFMH

  1. Twosocks says:

    Thank you for putting this one with the subtitles up. I have tried to watch this interview before, I think filmed by someone else, and it was difficult to follow. The first time I watched Parked, it took me a while before I could bring myself to watch it again, even though I couldn’t stop thinking about it. Something in it seemed to be personal. And Colin wrote that song?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A couple of comments in reply: This is , I believe, the same interview you watched previously It has been subtitled by the group I mentioned, and re-published for the rest of us.

    My reaction to Parked was exactly the same as you have had, The images wouldn’t leave my head for days. As much as I love this film and find Colin’s portrayal magnificent!, I still cannot watch it often. It still leaves it’s unsettling mark upon me. It is a masterpiece!

    And yes, Colin wrote that song … on his lunch break no less! As we are slowly coming to realize, there is, truly, no end to his talents. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have just published my comments on “Parked”. They will be found on the Main menu bar … a sub-page under Reviews. Comments on Pages are always encouraged and welcome. Tell us about your own impressions. We have some great discussions here.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. leahluna55 says:

    Thanks for posting this interview, it’s one of my favorite, too. Subtitles are a bonus. ❤
    About the song: Colin studied in one of the finest UK's Conservatoire, RSMAD, in Glasgow, Scotland. For the acting career he had to take music classes (music theory, solfege, singing and play an instrument). He has the knowledge and he did it great!
    In The Tempest he sings and there's a video of the 24 Hours… at the Old Vic in which he appears singing from a musical score. Definitely he is a well rounded artist!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Absolutely true Leah … I’m still in love with Ariel’s song …
      Where the bee sucks, There suck I
      Merrily, merrily, shall I live now
      And each time it comes to mind, there is Colin’s voice, sweetly singing.
      Let us know how your student fares with her application to RSAMD.

      Liked by 1 person

      • leahluna55 says:

        I love it, too! and as you said each time I this or any interview I fall in love with Colin over and over again! I’ve always thought that “he is an old, wise soul inhabiting a young body”.
        My admiration grows each time I listen to his inner voice and thoughtful words.

        Liked by 1 person

      • “he is an old, wise soul inhabiting a young body”. These are very like the words used by Richard Wilson (Gaius) when asked about working with Colin. He said, “he is an old head on very young shoulders.” 😉

        Like

      • leahluna55 says:

        Same thoughts about Colin! Good to know that I’m not the only one. 🙂

        Like

  5. Twosocks says:

    “An old, wise soul”–I had a similar thought the other day. You know how people say new infants look wise like they somehow can still see where ever it is they came from? It’s like Colin never totally lost that. And he seems to genuinely like older people–not just polite because of their age. At one time do you think he could have been considered “fey?” I am actually pretty hard headed, and would rather attribute it to a deep intelligence. I can’t help but feel there is something special about this young man and am glad I’m not the only one who feels that way.

    Am interested to know some of the background on music training at RSMAD. Quite a load. I had a sister who was a music major–four of us and a French horn in a VW bug! I will have to see if I can find the 24 Hour video. I assume it’s on YouTube.

    Liked by 2 people

    • My impression of Colin has also been that he is an “old soul”. How else to explain the sensitive understanding of intense emotion from one who has been able to display it from a very young age? Twosocks, your addition of the description “fey” is most appropriate, I think. I found this definition and would have to conclude that Colin wears it well.

      1. mythical being (at the very least, unusual for our time and place)

      2. supernatural; unreal; enchanted; strange; other worldly; able to see the future. (at least one might think so from his ability to make such wise choices.)

      3. quaintly unconventional; whimsical; unusual
      4. possesing fairy like qualities
      (he has enchanted us, very softly and quietly, in the same way the fog moves … on little cat feet.)

      and lastly:
      Defines a certain unexplainable beauty. Gorgeous, sweet, enchanting. Physical attributes often near or past perfection. (does anything more need to be said …)

      Like

  6. leahluna55 says:

    First, here is the link of The 24 Hour Musicals at The Old Vic, held on December 2012. I found this very interesting as a musician to see how in 24 hours they composed, prepared and rehearsed several musicals. The lecturer was Kevin Spacey (great actor, he teaches a lot in UK), and you will see Anthony Head (Uther Pendragon) and Colin, among many other actors. Hope you enjoy it! Later on I’ll comment about the new infants and RSMAD.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Twosocks says:

    Thank you! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A gentle correction: The Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama is: RSAMD. It’s easy to transpose the letters … just thought I would mention it, if you didn’t mind. Love to you both!
    And thank you, leahluna for the great video. It was good to see Colin among his peers.

    Like

    • leahluna55 says:

      Oh! Sorry for the mistake, sometimes I switch that A. 😦 Thanks for the correction. 🙂
      I was going to ask about that word “fey”, Can we talk about “fey children”? Are they related to the Indigo and Crystal children? Where can I find more information?
      I like the meaning you found and I agree with both of you, it goes well with his personality, especially on this:
      “quaintly unconventional; whimsical; unusual” and “a certain unexplainable beauty. Gorgeous, sweet, enchanting. Physical attributes often near or past perfection”.

      About the RSAMD, now called Royal Conservatoire of Scotland,it is one of the finest conservatoire in UK and they offer careers (Bachelor and Master Degrees) in Music, Acting, Dance (Ballet and Contemporary), Musical Theatre, Film and Digital Arts, and others I don’t remember now. It belongs to the Associated Board of Royal Schools of Music (ABRSM), that certifies the musical studies in 80 countries including USA and my country Dominican Republic.
      Here is the link for your sister http://www.rcs.ac.uk/

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Twosocks says:

    RSAMD–does make more sense.

    Didn’t know if I was going a step too far with ‘fey.’ Not a new age person, but I think it is also used to describe someone who is dark (as opposed to red hair) and has a feeling for the natural world. One of the (fictional) characters in a book I just finished described one of her children as fey, and didn’t mean they were not human. Somehow it just seemed to fit. I like that little ad that RSAMD did. I’m Colin Morgan and I’m pure magic. Have to agree. (Maybe slightly misquoted).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Never a step too far … I’m glad you mentioned it. In fairy tales and books set in Middle Ages or Medieval times, “fey” is often used to describe a “strange” child / person … that is, one who is “otherworldly”.
      The descriptions I am thinking of are primarily from the Celtic cultures, Ireland and particularly the Highlands of Scotland.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Twosocks says:

    “Morgana” is often referred to as Morgan le Fay. There seem to be different spellings. Someone magical but not a changeling. Here is my take from what little I recall. There may have been small, dark people in Ireland when the larger, fairer Celtic type people came. Over time they probably mixed with the new people but some children still showed these characteristics. We know now that there were all kinds of people living here before us. I suspect our tales of giants and fairies are a rememberance of them. And, of course, what’s a good tale without a little magic. And maybe they were magical? Who knows? We are beginning to learn that our genes carry more than just hair and eye color. They can actually “remember” which side of our family they come from. Maybe we’re all a little magical?

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

