Moving?

Contemplating a move to the UK.  (Very impratical for me, I know!)  But the temptations are seriously large!

Humans is an eight part drama from AMC, Channel 4 and Kudos.

The series will be made available in the UK on Channel 4 on June 14, 2015 and in the US on AMC on June 28, 2015.

Our British friends have two weeks to tell us all about it!  I’m NOT looking!!

CM.Humans.2

26 comments on “Moving?

  1. It’s seriously not fair that the UK gets it before us! I’m really going to have to consider 2 weeks of solitary confinement. Some deserted island, or a sensory deprivation chamber. Or I could just not go on the computer… *slits wrists*

    Like

    • Twosocks says:

      I never understood having these delays in screening. If you really don’t want to wait, there are ways around this–has something to do with rabbits! I’m going to have to wait an additional week. DD goes to work earlier than most and I will have to borrow her sofa, so it will be better to watch earlier in the evening. But still better than waiting out the entire series. I still plan on hanging around. At some point I have come to accept spoilers.

      Like

    • At work all day so missed the lively chatter! There are spoilers I don’t mind, but in this case I just want to savor it from the beginning without commentary from those who are ahead of us. This mostly concerns me because they will see the finale two weeks ahead of us as well. How terrible is that??!!

      As with Merlin, this promises to give us amazing performances … impossible to describe, though we all try. I want to live through it with him … with no advance notice … so … no other-blog watching for me until the end of August ????? Can it be done?

      For now, we have Testament of Youth, and all the lovely excitement around that project. We will find stuff to do. Perhaps I will work on finishing the Merlin pages … got stuck awhile back on Season 3 … then there is the TimeLine as yet unfinished … and a little project called “A Study in Persistence”.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Twosocks says:

        I kind of like the idea of holding off just a bit on Humans, too. Before watching The Fall, I had seen Colin’s scenes via links to YouTube. But I think I will avoid doing that this time. More Merlin, and TimeLine? Sounds good! And ‘A Study in Patience?’ Intriguing!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. leahluna55 says:

    Patience is a virtue!
    To comfort the three of you, I’ll have to wait a lot more, until they put it in Netflix. 😦 That’s a long way!
    But I’ll see what I can do with those “pages” that upload everything immediately, my sons will tell me how to do that. Sorry, that’s the only way…for me…by now! 😉 Then, just get it from Amazon or wait for Netflix!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know…I shouldn’t be so selfish, and consider those who are less fortunate than me and who actually have to wait beyond June 28. Life as I know it won’t end. I’ll survive. 🙂

      Sort of. Barely. *sigh* 😉

      So, Joan…what about the rabbits…?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Twosocks says:

        My little knitting community is somewhat international and many of them face similar problems. Every once in a while there is discussion and linking to something they refer to as ‘bunnies.’ Once something goes into the airwaves, it is out there and if you know how, you can link into it. Way beyond my abilities, but fandoms are nothing if not ingenious–plus a lot of time is spent on computers.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, dear Leah … we forget sometimes how much longer it is for you. ❤ What can we do to help?

      Liked by 1 person

      • leahluna55 says:

        My dear Suntse, Thanks for your concern. June is a very busy month for me: concerts, recitals, final exams…I’ll put my mind into that. But for sure I’ll be waiting for your comments in bbcdiscovery and photos, feel free to write a lot about Humans, Toy and Colin, I really enjoy your writings…and Joan’s comments, as well as whisperingmind’s.
        Ale, my older son is coming from Argentina in July and as he knows a lot about finding series and stream or download them he will find it for me with the subtitles. 😉

        Like

  3. leahluna55 says:

    Anyway, I feel grateful that you, my friends, are very close to see Humans, to taste Colin’s acting, and I’ll happily wait for your comments (I don’t mind spoilers) and photos, and for sure I will enjoy it too, even though I’ll watch it, later….. ❤

    Like

  4. leahluna55 says:

    ….Watch it someday! 🙂

    Like

  5. Twosocks says:

    Lau–can you get iTunes? Checked out Turn just as an example and it looks like the entire series (along with a lot of extras) is already available for download. If you skip the HD, it’s $17 for the series–pretty much what the DVDs will be. If the Humans episodes are an hour long, downloading for me won’t be a problem. I figure it will give me the chance to rewatch sooner.

    Liked by 1 person

    • leahluna55 says:

      It’s OK mywhisperingmind! you cannot imagine how lucky you’re living in USA or Canada.
      Anyway, tell me about “bunnies”? is that a system for downloading TV series and movies?
      iTunes? Joan. I have it but thought it was only for music. I’ll ask my daughter.
      I saw “Turn” when I was in Michigan, I took my tablet with me and as my IP address changed from Dominican Republic to USA, all of a sudden I had in my Netflix a lot of TV Shows and films I don’t get at home. That was a great opportunity for me to watch: Turn, Broadchurch, Daredevil, and others…was a bonus I had in my trip to Michigan.
      When the three of you start watching Humans, make all the comments you want, I don’t mind “spoilers” because they’re a “motivation” for me. Am I weird? jejeje 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Twosocks says:

    iTunes is not just music, at least not here. I get all my audio books through them. Also all my Merlin episodes, ringtones, etc. You have to set up with them in some way. My daughter did all that for me when I first got my iPad. It involves a credit card because they have to have some way of charging you for things you download. At one time you had to sync through a regular computer in order to put things on your other devices, but the cloud has eliminated this. My knowledge about ‘bunnies’ is pretty much zilch. It was never anything I thought I could do or really wanted to. I think things are a bit better now at least for UK-US broadcasts. PBS at least learned their lesson when they had a six month delay for a season of Sherlock. So maybe we shouldn’t complain too much. The hardest part, I guess, is that fandoms are pretty much international so sharing spoilers, screen caps, etc., is unavoidable (I’m really not complaining!).

    Liked by 1 person

  7. leahluna55 says:

    Thanks, Joan!
    Spoilers are unavoidable and I love them. When the Fall was released I was in Colombia and in my tablet I saw a little bit of some of the episodes, but didn’t loose any interest. When I arrived to Santo Domingo I found Netflix was showing it!!! Happiness for me because it was subtitled! 🙂

    Like

  8. leahluna55 says:

    Agree with both of you and as I told you before I won’t have much time to be in internet, June is complicated for me, starting from now.
    And Yes! Patience is a virtue, let’s work on it. 🙂

    Like

    • Contrary to my comments, I actually DO possess quite a bit of patience (about the only virtue I own). 🙂 I will definitely draw on those resources in June. Waiting patiently will make the eventual arrival of both ToY and Humans all the more sweeter.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Humans promises to be all Colin. Like Merlin … from the boy coming down the hill maturing into the great sorcerer, I believe this role is another into which he will have immersed himself.

    My plan is to hold off until the series begins here … definitely not until August, that could not be borne … that would take too much discipline! I’m glad the glimpses of the series won’t bother Leah, and I understand. If we had to wait months, it just wouldn’t be possible to abstain. And I’m sure we will all purchase the dvd’s so we can see it over and over again. Like Merlin, this one will hold us captive forever.

    The Fall and Quirke are fun … but not the same. This one will wriggle its way into our hearts.

    Colin/Merlin, Colin/Cathal, Colin/Calum, Colin/Victor, now Colin/Leo. He will make this character his own.

    Like

  10. The project I mentioned was, “A Study in PERSISTENCE. (But Patience is good, too! … and also applies, come to think of it.) 😉

    Like

    • Twosocks says:

      Due to a project that I have had on hold way too long, maybe a little reminder of Persistance is just the thing right now.

      I also think Leo will be central to Humans (though I still have a bit of hope as to where The Fall will go). I will only be a week behind, so will just put off reading that episode’s post and comments till I’ve watched it. I do rather imagine the first thing I will do after I get home of a Sunday evening is rip open the iPad!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I found a new article on “Humans”!

    http://tinyurl.com/q5orzqw

    Colin’s not mentioned specifically, but it’s a good read. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Twosocks says:

      Jen, this is a good one! I like that they are getting some advanced publicity that is definitely positive. And Colin’s picture made it in (plus a second blurry one).

      One more thing I appreciated: it’s probably been 40+ years since I’ve read ‘I, Robot’ by Isaac Asimov. But I think he may have been one of the original writers to begin to think seriously about the consequences of, basically, a species created by us that is ‘other’ than us. I am glad that he is being acknowledged. It isn’t the walking, talking part that is worrisome–it is the thinking part. If you would like to read his own favorite story, ‘The Last Question’ is available as a PDF. I just reread it I the other day after many years. It’s relatively short, and maybe a bit dated, but well worth the time–you will probably never forget the last line!

      Liked by 1 person

      • leahluna55 says:

        Jen, I read the article and it’s really good. It’s amazing that the AI actors had to go to a “Synth School” to learn the appropriate movements and facial expressions. This is going to be excellent, a must to have in DVD like Merlin. Hope Leo doesn’t die…so we have him in future Seasons.

        Like

    • Thank you Joan – I’ll look for it. 🙂

      Like

    • Very interesting, Jen. We should include it on the blog. I’ll work on it later in the week. Thanks for keeping us in the loop. Warm regards, Suntse

      Like

Leave a Reply

