Life

Leo’s dad has left him a message embedded in a computer code.  What is the message?  What does it mean?  Will it help Leo accomplish his goal?  What is his goal, after all ?

15 comments on “Life

  1. leahluna55 says:

    A precious Leo’s moment! ❤

    Like

  2. Twosocks says:

    They really keep us guessing. Did you see where someone pointed out that Colin is wearing a tshirt with a tree on it during the interviews?

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on alwayspudding and commented:
    am enjoying this series immensely ~ only just watched episode 2 (behind the UK by 2 wks)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Twosocks says:

    I am beginning to wonder if Professor Hobbs has it backwards. I am not so sure Dr. Elster was trying to make synths that have human minds so much as he is trying to give humans synth minds. Maybe that’s the direction Millican was uncomfortable with.

    Like

  5. Twosocks says:

    I have posted before that I have been reading a book I stumbled across looking around at AI (The Intelligent Universe by James N. Gardner) and find myself breathless at how it relates to Humans and just wanted to share this:

    “Life. . .the essential reality at the very heart of the elegant machinery of the universe’ . . .after Christian de Duve.

    I so want to see what Leo is looking at–it isn’t just a tree!

    Like

    • leahluna55 says:

      I don’t think so, Joan. I don’t think Leo is just looking a tree, he is recharging himself with pure life.
      I don’t know which philosophical or esoteric implications the writers have wanted to show but I can tell you there is a shamanic practice in which the person renews its life energy by placing a hand on a tree or hugging it or sitting in lotus position with the spine “attached” to the tree. This practice is related to “Life” itself…from a “wholistic” point of view. ( I don’t know if that word exists in English, in Spanish we say “holístico”)
      That Leo’s moment is poetic and philosophical.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Twosocks says:

        I think the word is ‘holistic!’ I knew the Druids had connections to trees and the Tree of Life motif seems to appear in different cultures. We seem to recognize some kind of connection there. I didn’t know about the shamanistic practice of placing your hand on a tree, but it certainly gives this moment a great, deep meaning. I suppose what I was trying to say was that Leo wasn’t just ‘seeing’ the physical object of the tree but also the life behind it and through it. Does that make any sense?

        (Have to get ready to go to a soccer match this evening, but look forward to where these conversations are going. And, please, if there is any greater power in the universe, could our team win just ONE match at home? Is that too much to ask? See everyone later.)

        Like

      • leahluna55 says:

        Thanks Joan for the word, it’s almost like in Spanish: holístico=holistic.
        Yes! Joan it makes sense, “the Life behind and through it”.
        North, Central and South American natives have these beliefs and always look for connecting with nature in different ways. I’ve been in spiritual and esoteric groups, practiced yoga and that’s something we’ve practiced, exactly as Leo, when we go to our retreat: one hand on the tree and the other hand (this wasn’t shown) on the third Chakra, the Solar Plexus, which connects us with our personal power and the world around us.The Solar Plexus is where all the energy is accumulated.
        This practice is incredibly energizing…feeling Life.
        For me, that scene was so powerful and meaningful! and was wonderfully performed. ❤
        Sorry if I became very philosophical… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Again, Leah, you are quite wonderful. This was beautifully said.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Twosocks says:

    Oh, Leah, this is so interesting. I used to volunteer at a Native American archeological site and liked when the pow wows came to town. I was trying to remember if there was something like this with trees with North American tribes. I know animals were very important connections to nature for them. Would love to know more. I’ve never practiced any kind of spiritual excercise (I grew up Catholic), but it has always fascinated me. (Apparently the universe is against us, because the team lost again. Of course, it might be they just don’t play all that well!).

    Liked by 1 person

    • leahluna55 says:

      Joan, I grew up Catholic, too. Mysteriously found Yoga through two catholic priests: Anthony de Mello (from India) and Ignacio Larrañaga (Spanish), the last I had the honor to meet him and be in retreats he led. Both of the Franciscan order ( I’ve always loved Francisco de Asís). From there to be in Shamanic groups and learn about healing with music and Reiki, was a short step. My husband is in the same path and we’re both vegetarians, been a vegetarian gives you a different perspective about the natural world and humanity.
      It’s true, Native Americans (North, Central and South) have always connected with animals as well as with plants, water, earth, fire and air…with all the elements in order to maintain a balance with nature.
      It doesn’t matter if you are Catholic, Buddhist, Baptist, etc, at the end all human beings seek the same…
      There’s an old saying: “When the disciple is ready the teacher appears”.
      It’s just a matter of being attentive to the signs of Life…and the Universe.
      You see what “Humans” is doing to us?
      Sweet Dreams!

      Like

      • Twosocks says:

        Leah, hoping Suntse forgives us for hijacking her blog just a little. I checked out the two priests you mentioned. Fr. De Mello has books on kindle. I like his attitude. He reminds me a bit of Fr. Chris who was my mom’s parish priest (St. Francis Church!). At her funeral, I made sure to tell him that he gave the best sermons I’d ever heard. He had left the priesthood for a while and was a probation officer. I think it gave him a bit of a different perspective. He never took himself too seriously. Looks like Suntse has given us a couple of new, thoughtful, posts. Looking forward to all the comments.

        Like

  7. Twosocks says:

    I am okay with what Humans is doing to us! That current read has mentioned a few writers and thinkers I want to follow up on. Maybe getting ready for that teacher? Though the best part–meeting some wonderful ladies who inspire me every day! Once, again, thank you Suntse (and Jen), and of course, Colin, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Twosocks says:

    Oh, and thank you Lea, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

