A Reviewer we REALLY like!

A very funny entry by one of our very favorite reviewers, Rob Smedley of Cultbox.  Read all his reviews of Humans, you will love them!!

Here’s a photo of the Elster Synths in happier times…

 .
***************************************************************
Now that we are all talking about Rob Smedley, I’m taking a quick minute to add links to his last three reviews of Humans.  We will probably visit these later, but I must leave soon.  If you have time, read and enjoy.  He definitely has the spirit of the series in his comments.
 .
The Comment I referred to earlier: “The horror and confusion that Colin Morgan puts his lovely face through is terrific; a contorting diagram of muscles revealing about eight different emotions at once.”
 .
17 comments on “A Reviewer we REALLY like!

  1. You didn’t think this was adorable? I laugh hysterically every time I look at it!! 😀 😀 😀
    The one with the antenna has a very bewildered look! And the one with the crew-cut hair cut must be a teenager! Do you have ideas about these characters??

    Like

  2. Twosocks says:

    I guess the little one is Maxi! Went back and reread all the reviews. Some I recognized, a couple seemed new to me. All worth a second look! (Looks like even WordPress has had to resort to advertising.)

    Like

    • ” (Looks like even WordPress has had to resort to advertising.)”

      Are you talking about this post? Or something else? Not an ad I assure you! I have mentioned Rob Smedley before, and there are not many reviewers that catch my attention. Just wanted to share him with bbcdiscovery. (and why am I explaining myself?)

      Like

      • This is supposed to be a happy, light-hearted look at robots past … a break for a little laughter. How soon it can be turned into something else. 😦

        Like

      • Twosocks says:

        Oh, no, Suntse it’s not you! I’m NOT referring to the post. I know that is not an ad! But right under it there are ads that have been inserted. When you go to ‘about these ads’ it says something about explaining them. This is WordPress and not you. I so sorry that I left that impression. I DO NOT feel like you’re referring to something like cultbox as anything other than you helping us to fully discover all the great things out there that you point out to us.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you for that response, Joan. It makes me feel much better. As it happens WordPress does apparently insert ads, not on the main blog, but on the notices that go out. They do this only on the ‘free’ wordpress sites. I’m just learning about this. I am truly tempted to upgrade bbcdiscovery to a ‘paid’ site. There would be advantages, too in getting help from a ‘happiness engineer’ when I want to speak or chat with a real person. Anyway, that upgrade is supposed to be ad-free. They do have to pay employees, etc. somehow … so it’s the price of a freebee, I suppose. The paid one is a yearly fee, comparable to my Amazon Prime. I’m seriously considering it.

        Like

  3. Anyone else who looks at this and is not amused, should know that Rob Smedley is a fan of Humans. This was not meant to make fun of our favorite Synths. He is a man with a sly sense of humor, which appeals to this editor. And this look at the past is truly a delightful one for many of us.

    Isn’t it amazing how far our perception of robots has come! These clunky little characters were a beginning, though. And precious they are.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Twosocks says:

    PS: I loved the picture of the chunky robots. We have come a long way!

    Like

  5. I think this is hilarious! When I first opened it, I laughed out loud. 🙂

    I’ve read a few cultbox reviews and they’re always good. I’m not sure if they’re his, but I’m going to check it out.

    (Oh, and I don’t see ads, but I’m wondering if it’s because I’m on WordPress myself. However, I have seen an ad box on the end of some of my posts that says that viewers might see ads.)

    Like

    • You don’t see them on your main blog, Jen. But if you subscribe to yourself, and get the notifications like your followers do, you may see them from time to time. I did this quite by accident when I was having trouble signing back on to my site at work. So, I have an idea what Joan is talking about. It’s kinda neat, though, for the few days it worked I was seeing what you folks see when you get an email notification.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I thought it was hilarious also! I laughed until there were tears rolling down my cheeks and almost fell out of my chair!!!!

      Like

  6. I just read his review of E8. I hadn’t seen it because Colin’s name wasn’t in it, therefore it hadn’t been tagged on Tumblr <—my source for most articles. He is quite a fan of the show. 🙂

    Also, if I was on Twitter, I'd follow him…he's very funny.

    Like

    • I don’t follow him on Twitter, just signed on to look at his posts on Humans. It’s tempting though to follow him. I like his take on the writing and the characters. I completely agreed with his approval of the show mellowing out a bit after two highly emotional episodes … and leaving us with the quieter questions. Kudos to Rob! Also, he’s the one who mentioned the contortions Colin put his ‘lovely face’ through when seeing Beatrice in E7. (So, a man after my own heart, this Rob Smedley!) 🙂 ❤

      Like

    • I’ve just added links to his last three reviews of Humans to the this post. Check them out if you have time. Suntse

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Twosocks says:

    Suntse, I felt terrible about this! I had no intention of slighting you in any way. I guess I said something because it’s the first time it happened to me. It would seem that we can avoid them by using the email as just a notice and going over to your main site. I keep it on both the iPad and my phone, so no problem!

    Like

  8. leahluna55 says:

    This is lovely and hilarious!! I like this reviewer very much, I’ve collected all his Human’s reviews. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

