What Were You Doing !!!

.

The bracelet

In re-watching Merlin to answer a follower’s question, we also revisited another scene in that episode.  It was impressive from the beginning, compelling, and left one with the feeling intended.  Bradley James and Angel Coulby certainly stepped up to the mark in giving us the Anger and Anguish of betrayal.  It was stunning.

So, why did the authors leave us without having anyone discover the enchanted bracelet???

(farfaraway photo credit)

7 comments on “What Were You Doing !!!

  1. Any other questions you would like up for discussion … please enter them in Spoilers, and I will keep a list and get to them in due time. (Joan, was this what you had in mind?)

    Like

    • Twosocks says:

      Yes, it is! And it’s got me thinking (I know, bad for me). I always thought this was one of Bradley’s best scenes. So, do you think the bracelet is still there? It doesn’t look like they refurbished the dungeons very often. I do want to give this a little more thought. Right now I need to get ready for a shopping trip with my daughter (your prayers would be appreciated!) but hope to get back with something a little later. I am up to mid season five on my current rewatch, but this may give me a good excuse to start all over when I finish this one and take notes. Thank you, Suntse!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. AwenFound says:

    I wondered why, too, but I will take a stab at this one. Regardless, of the scriptwriter’s motivation (and it could have been as simple as having to drop a scene for time consideration), I think that this allowed us to see how much Arthur had matured. Without even knowing the truth of the enchantment, Arthur was ultimately able to overcome his ego and anger to forgive Gwen and admit that he still loved her. It also revealed that their bond would not be destroyed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Alright, Drew ! My answer will be published after everyone else has had their say. I wrote it to a friend a few years back, who was very upset about what they considered a terrible omission on the part of the writers. 😉

      (Why do we not give writer’s more credit, I wonder? … Good writers generally have the big picture in mind. The question is, can the viewer figure it out. In this instance, they knew exactly what they were doing, and left us, for a pretty long time, with the lingering question. Mysteries anyone?)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Twosocks says:

    I am going to assume we mean there was no mention of the bracelet after Gwen threw it on the dungeon floor. While I have my reservations about Camelot’s guards, I wouldn’t want to think of them as dishonest. If one of them found it, I don’t think they would have kept it. Perhaps one returned it to Arthur who wouldn’t have known it was magical. If he suspected, who would he ask? Maybe he tucked it away somewhere.

    We know that Merlin can sense magic in an object, like the Cup of Life, or in a place. He seems to need to be somewhat close to the thing for this to happen. He does know about Lancelot’s being a shade. I’m not sure how he could come out and tell Arthur why he knows that. His plea to Arthur to forgive Gwen must have come partly from his friendship with Gwen and partly from knowing not everything was as it seemed on the surface.

    I liked that they clearly showed that Gwen was being manipulated, too. I think her character may have been the most problematic of those from the original stories. Arthur is kingly, Merlin is wise, Morgana is deceitful, Mordred is kind of two-timing. But Gueneviere is the woman who loved two men. Until very recently, writers seemed to have a moral imperative to have ‘fallen’ women punished. While for ‘our’ Gwen, her emotions might be in question, but I don’t think her integrity could be. We would have never forgiven her if she had simply left Arthur because Lancelot was back in Camelot. She would be our queen. We needed to trust her. Again, this episode is hard for me to watch, not because Morgana is being her usual self in trying to get to the throne, but because she is more than willing to ruin two good people to do it.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. At the first viewing. I wanted Arthur to at least find out about the enchanted bracelet and about Morgana’s part in it all. Later, as the story progressed, I realized it was much more important that those things did not take place … that they were not necessary … that Arthur needed to find that he loved Gwen in the purist sense, unconditionally, with no diversion into blame or rationalization. So, in the end Love was not fragile, but made of stronger stuff, able to withstand difficulties and disappointment … emerging triumphant and beautiful. (Even though much time and many trials had to pass before it all ended well … the uneven terrain of life.)

    Like

    • Twosocks says:

      I really like this view, too. As difficult as it was for Gwen, we are shown just how hard it was for Arthur. In the end, not even Morgana’s scheming magic could break their bond. And it makes both characters stronger for it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

