Production Designer, Director … A little about Charles Garrard

Garrad.Morgan.WFY
“Charles Garrad is an artist who knows how to captivate every single observer of his work, a creator with a magnetic authenticity.”  Montse Bru   Article excerpts by Monsieur Garrard follow:

Digital may be a way of the future but it is not mine. I am steeped in reality. I like to observe and develop from real places and situations. Digital tools are amazing for enhancing reality in the most subtle ways but when the page is blank real life is the place to start.

I am guided by my sense of place. Invariably I look for one thing and end up finding something different but better than what I had imagined.

You once said that “Waiting for You”, the first film you’ve directed and which is now in the post-production stage, is a  “lyrical mystery”.  What do you think will surprise the audience the most? 

I think the film has a strong sense of place.  I visited more that 40 crumbling houses in the South of France before preproduction started before choosing the right place to set the film. The house is ghostly and magical and is a key character in the film. I hope the audience will be immersed with the feel of the place and the way it contributes to the story as well as with the characters who are within it. Faces and places.

And as a director, what was your relationship like with the cast and crew? 

I very much enjoyed directing my first feature film. I had a remarkable cast and crew all of whom were very committed to the project. … I saw the characters I wanted in the individuals I cast and they inhabited them. All I had to do was watch and nudge as they did remarkable work. Sometimes I became so engrossed in what they were doing that I forgot to say cut !

(Photo credit: Zephyr Films)
4 comments on “Production Designer, Director … A little about Charles Garrard

  1. I think we can notice that Colin stays in character even while receiving input from his Director. His talent and ability are surely extraordinary.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. leahluna55 says:

    For sure this was a wonderful experience for Colin. “Waiting for this Film”, to see Colin in the big screen as the main character will be priceless!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Will says:

    I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article
    like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my
    opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made good
    content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

