Humans v. Westworld

leo-in-pain-1-2

A truly worthy article in TV Guide about the questions and values presented in ‘Humans’.  This, more than any other recently read, articulates the subtle themes in this marvelous series and relates them with an eye to the understanding it deserves.

excerpt: Although it lacks the budget or star power of Westworld, this actually works to Humans‘ advantage, helping the show to feel relatable where Westworld felt slick and distant. Rather than grand, philosophical monologues about civilization and enlightenment, Humans prefers to show instead of tell the audience about what it means when the line between synthetic and organic becomes blurred beyond recognition. Once the Hawkins family unlocks Mia’s true self, they’re forced to reevaluate synths’ position in society and reconcile they’re own previous actions from this new perspective: Is it cheating if it’s with a synth? Is it rape if the synth can’t say no, or if you didn’t know it could think? What rights does possessing consciousness earn, and where do you draw the line?

by Sadie Gennis

Read it through and find a reason to watch ‘Humans’, especially from a UK source where the editing pen is not wielded with the same blindness as the one from AMC.

http://www.tvguide.com/news/humans-amc-season-2/?ftag=TVG_Twitter

(screen shot from Channel 4 broadcast … all credit to Kudos/Shine/and BBC)
9 comments on “Humans v. Westworld

  1. Contact details are located as a sub-menu. Hover over “About (an homage)” : Disclaimer and Contact the Author will appear and can be selected. You can contact me using the following email: bbcfilmlover@mail.com

    Like

  2. That is really attention-grabbing, You’re an overly professional blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and sit up for seeking more of your wonderful post.
    Also, I have shared your website in my social networks http://www.blog-differdangechange.lu/actualites/best-guidelines-to-write-good-article/

    Like

  3. 1 says:

    Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some
    advice from an established blog. Is it hard to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast.
    I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to
    begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thank you http://bit.ly/2km6ESQ

    Like

    • Hello … I use Word Press for my blog, and it does not require a lot of work or knowledge. There are many themes to choose from. The theme itself sets up the page … you should try it. I only write my thoughts, add pictures (usually from Google), and arrange the page. It is enormous fun and has become my only hobby. Good luck, and let us know how you are doing. 🙂

      P.S. I use the Free version, and it has served me well.

      Like

  4. Does your site have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail.
    I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested
    in hearing. Either way, great site and I
    look forward to seeing it grow over time.

    Like

    • Yes, there is a contact option on the main menu under the “About (an homage)” page. You are welcome to send me an email..

      You should know that I am not interested in growing or promoting this site. My subject appeals to me and a relatively small audience. These are viewers who mostly have the same passion for my subject as I do, and I am happy that it is small.

      This site is done in my own style. It started as a way for me to archive my opinions and thoughts about a person I admire. Those who share this interest are encouraged to comment and interact with their own voice. Keeping those contacts is the limit of my ambition for this creative place.

      Like

  5. This piece of writing is genuinely a nice one it assists new internet people, who
    are wishing in favor of blogging.

    Like

  6. 1 says:

    This publish is prepared so skillfully. You could show that this author
    is an expert with this field and knows what
    he or she is talking about. Anticipate more articles from him.

    Like

  7. Marie says:

    Now I am ready to do my breakfast, afterward having my breakfast coming again to read further news.

    Like

Leave a Reply

